Professor Iain L. C. Chapple

Scientific Advisory Board Member

BDS, FDSRCPS (Glas), FDSRCS (Edin), Ph.D. CCST (Rest Dent)

Iain Chapple is former Director of Research for the Institute of Clinical Sciences, and former Head of the Dental School (2016-2020) at Birmingham University UK. He has written 13-textbooks and 35-chapters.

Iain was IADR Periodontal Research Group President (2006-7), European Federation of Periodontology (EFP) Treasurer (2007-2013); Workshop co-chair (2008-current); Scientific Advisory Committee Chair (2013-2016); Secretary General (2016-2019) and President of the British Society of Periodontology (2014-2015).

He was awarded: The Royal College of Surgeons Tomes medal (2011); IADR Distinguished Scientist (2018); EFP’s Eminence Award (2022) and was awarded an MBE in the 2022 Queens New Year’s Honour’s. He has published >250 papers and leads a regional periodontal service and national service for adults with Epidermolysis Bullosa. Iain lectures all over the world on a broad range of topics related to periodontal diseases but has a strong interest in mechanisms underpinning periodontal-systemic disease links and in immune-microbial interactions.

Professor Iain L. C. Chapple - Portrait